A Girl Who Couldn’t Say “N” – for ak – HAPPY NEW YEAR

~

She couldn’t make N’s with the top of her tongue
So subbing the M was why it had become
To make folks uneasy
Maybe some even queasy
When – Sit on your knee?
Became – Sit on your me!
Bless her!
Nap was map, Nut was mutt
Gnat was mat, Nail was mail
Nice was mice, Night was might
Neat was meat, Nope was mope
And as her vocabulary grew!
Nooses was moose’s, Noontide became moontide
Numskull was mumskull
And Neathouse was meathouse
And Networking!!! became Metworking!!!
Wow.  Got all that?
God bless her, she tries folks, she really, really tries!
~
But my favorite came tonight while I sipped on my beer
I picked up the phone and this I did hear
(She said)
“Grandma I love you”
&
“HAPPY MOO YEAR!!!”

~

~

~

~

~

~

Leave a Reply

