The College of Your Choice

Greetings once again Y’all. Got a few more letters from Jesse at Holiday Island. There is a very interesting IMHO link to an article by Hugh Hewitt at the bottom of this post. It has alot to do with careers for young men under 25. It looks like the 21st Century is going to be just as calm and peaceful as the last one. I have been giving the young lads I know the same advice.
I am sure you are all familiar with the Marine Corps doctrine that states that all soldiers shall be first trained as rifleman. One good man with a rifle may persuade many a miscreant to the path of rightousness. I’m sure you are all at least somewhat familiar with “The Creed” taught to all potential Marines. Here is the completet text as Jesse sent it to me from Camp.

“My Rifle”
The creed of a United States Marine

By: Major General W.H. Rupertus, U.S.M.C.

“This is my rifle. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My rifle without me is useless. Without my rifle, I am useless. I must fire my rifle true. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I will…
My rifle and myself know that what counts in this war is not the rounds we fire, the noise of our burst, nor the smoke we make. We know that it is the hits that count. We will hit…
My rifle is human, even as I because it is my life. Thus I will learn it as a brother. I will learn it’s weaknesses, it’s strengths, it’s parts, it’s accessories, it’s sights, and it’s barrel. I will ever guard it against the ravages of weather and damage. I will keep my rifle clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will…
Before God I swear this creed. My rifle and myself are defenders of my country. We are the masters of our enemy. We are the saviors of my life.
So be it, until victory is America’s and there is no enemy but peace!

He also writes that he is soon to train on the A4, The m249 S.A.W. and a rocket launcher. Can’t wait. He gets 10 days leave on Jan 5th. He wants to come up on the mountain. I cannot imagine that the ice or snow shall stop him.
Best wishes all-Muninn
http://www.townhall.com/columnists/HughHewitt/2006/12/14/the_elections_of_2028_what_did_you_do_when_america_was_attacked

2 thoughts on “The College of Your Choice

  1. I am glad that the lad is getting to practice with the tools of his chosen profession; I am certain he will do well.
    As to the link to the Hugh Hewitt piece, however, I will limit my comment to the adage: “If you can’t say something nice, say nothing at all.”
    1) At least Hewitt has the mental wattage to use “spell check.”
    2) When he builds straw men, he has the good grace to immolate them himself.
    3) He may not have served in the military, himself, but he does an excellent job of condemning those who also have not served in the military.
    4) His grasp of reactionary catch phrases and code words is worthy of a Fox News commentator.

    It is a wonderful that in this great republic of ours, even the addled can publish commentary that has exactly the same semantic weight as that of those who actually know what they are talking about.
    Makes one proud.

  2. Aethelred
    No need to sugar coat it. Tell us what you really think.
    I have a nice sharp rapier downstairs but I would not wager it against your wit. Eagerly await your next post. Remember, It takes a carpenter to build a barn but any mule can kick it down.
    Cheers-Muninn

Leave a Reply

